Reverse Bucket List

This is a bucket list with a twist, instead of listing what I’d like to achieve, it celebrates what I’ve already achieved. I pinched the idea from Holly of Golly Miss Holly. As I said in a previous post, I’m not very good at singing my own praises, but here goes:

  • I’ve swum on the Great Barrier Reef: I spent my last year at uni saying that I wanted to go to Australia when I graduated. It took me a year to save up the money, but I did indeed go to Australia, where I met my lovely – now departed  – cousin Lisa for the first and only time, as well as catching up with other friends and relatives. I visited some beautiful places, the ultimate being the Great Barrier Reef.
  • I’m proud to call myself a writer: I’ve been writing for a long time, but it’s only been in the last year or two that I’ve been confident enough to consider myself a writer, rather than someone who dabbles with words. As Joanne Harris – of Chocolat fame – recently said on Twitter, in a post dispelling myths about writing, “If you write, you’re a writer.”

jh

  • I’ve visited the Pyramids at Giza: It was a long journey from where I was staying in Egypt, but I knew it wasn’t a country I’d be rushing back to, so I made the most of it, and ensured I saw as many tourist sites as possible.
  • I’ve been to Niagara Falls… twice: The first time was because it was on my bucket list, the second time was because my husband wanted to go there.

niagara falls, canada, horse shoe falls, usa

  • I’ve been to New Zealand: It’s as far away from the UK as you can possibly get, and includes fantastic places like Rotorua. My husband and I got engaged in NZ so it’ll always be somewhere that brings back fond memories. It’s the only country that I’ve ever visited, and thought, “I could live here”. I hope we can take Munchkin there at some point.

agrodome, rotorua, new zealand

 

10 thoughts on “Reverse Bucket List

  1. Wow! I had no idea you were so well travelled:). I only had the most fleeting experiences of New Zealand when I was there, given I spent most of the time at my sister’s bedside in hospital – but like you, it’s the only place I’ve ever visited that made me think longingly of the option of living there… How lovely that you got engaged there:).
    And I absolutely endorse the quote from Joanne Harris!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got the travel bug from my late mother but all of the long haul destinations were pre-child. I hope your sister is OK now.
    I recently started following Joanne Harris on Twitter. From time to time, she comes up with good advice for new writers.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sunday Post – 23rd July 2017 | Brainfluff

Leave a Reply

