#ThrowBackThursday: Storm in a D Cup

This week I’m looking back to my pregnancy blog, and bra buying. What I didn’t write in this post, was a few weeks later, I went to another store and had an equally disasterous fitting. I should have listened to the friend who told me to go to Bravissimo. Little did I know that it’s old hat to add 4+ inches to the band measurement (I always wondered why bras rode up when I put my hands in the air!), as the two shops I visited had clearly done and that the creases at the bottom of the cups were caused by them being too small.

These days, if I need a bra, my first stop is Boob or Bust. This is a website that teaches you how to measure properly. They even have a Facebook group with highly trained admins who will check the fit of members’ bras.

panache bra

I had to take my own bra picture as the library ones gave the wrong message!

In the well known pregnancy manual, What to Expect When You’re Expecting, Heidi Murkoff says that a pregnant woman’s bra size may end up three cup sizes bigger than it was pre pregnancy…she’s not wrong!

My bras were getting too tight and things were wobbling when they didn’t ought to.  I tried measuring myself, but that was about as much use as a chocolate tea pot!  When I checked my measurements on online bra size charts, La Senza and BHS said I was too small to wear a bra, M&S said I was a 34A, an online calculator said I was a 34C and Figleaves’ size guide may as well have been written in a foreign language!

I knew I had to do something, so my not-quite-a-bump-yet and I made our way to the lingerie department of a well known store.  I was told that the bra fitter was currently with someone, and offered a seat while I waited.  Last time I had a bra fitted, it took about five minutes, so I wasn’t expecting her to be long.  After about ten minutes, I saw the bra fitter emerge from a cubicle carrying a white bra with cups large enough to carry a small child!  I texted my husband to say that I was having to wait due to a woman with massive boobs.   Ten minutes later, the well endowed lady’s bra was finally fitted.  The fitter then told me that her shift had finished and someone else would be along to fit my bra.  By this point I was getting thoroughly grumpy.  I’d read the store’s in house magazine twice and nobody had said they were sorry about the wait.

A lady called Holly arrived to fit my bra.  She was very pleasant, and concluded that I was a 34C (and I’d thought the online calculator was nuts!).  Apparently underwired bras aren’t recommended for pregnancy since they can dig in and interfere with the milk ducts (who would have known?), so she brought me a selection of unwired bras to try.  The fit ranged from too loose on the band, to wrinkles at the bottom of the cup, to a strange dimpled effect at the top of the cup.  Poor Holly was despairing (as no doubt was the woman waiting for a bra fitting after me) and went to get her manager for a second opinion.

With some assistance from Holly’s manager Emma, I ended up with a bra with a bit of growth room (I was only 12 weeks pregnant…what if I continued growing for the next 30 weeks?).  They both concluded that I was either a 32D or a 34C depending on the cut of the bra.  A “D cup”?  When I went up from an AA to an A a few years ago, I thought that was as big as I’d ever get.

3 thoughts on “#ThrowBackThursday: Storm in a D Cup

  1. Ah… the joys of being pregnant! I seem to recall I had my sister’s maternity bras… But those were the days when we all wore quite baggy clothes – pinafore dresses and dungarees a lot of the time so if things gaped or wrinkled I don’t think it mattered…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

